EPSM 2015 Recap

The 2015 Engineering and Physical Sciences in Medicine conference was convened in Wellington from the 8th to 12th November. Members from the Queensland branch were prominent, with a number of presentations (listed here) and plenty of posters (hopefully appearing at the upcoming PRIMPS event, described here)!

Queensland branch member Ian Smith (St. Andrews War Memorial Hospital) will be assuming the role of the ACPSEM President starting next year (having been the Vice President for the past 2 years), joined by Tanya Kairn (Genesis Cancer Care Queensland) in the Honorary Registrar position.

Katrina Biggerstaff (Princess Alexandria Hospital) did well in the Photography in Medical Physics competition, winning 3rd and 2nd  places in the macro category, with photos of the Gamma Knife source, secondary carousel edge and thyratron (seen below).

A paper from Queensland, “Treatment plan complexity metrics for predicting IMRT pre-treatment quality assurance results” by S. B. Crowe, T. Kairn, J. Kenny, R. T. Knight, B. Hill, C. M. Langton and J. V. Trapp, was the runner up for the 2015 Kenneth Clarke Award.

See you in Sydney next year!