NEWSFLASH: ACPSEM training grants

The list of successful applications for the 2018 round of ACPSEM training grants has been published on the national ACPSEM website. Of the 26 grants awarded, four went to Queensland radiation oncology departments:

  • Princess Alexandra Hospital
  • ICON Toowoomba
  • Sunshine Coast University Hospital
  • Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital

Congratulations to everyone involved in the successful applications and sincerest thanks to everyone who submitted an application, for your ongoing support of medical physics training in Queensland.

2017 Symposium Recap

The Princess Alexandra Hospital hosted the 27th ACPSEM Queensland branch symposium.

The day started with the 4th ACPSEMQ winter school, with DIMPs learning about recent innovations in mammography and ROMPs learning about image guided radiation therapy. Speakers included Tale Liiv, Elaine Ryan, Jack Svenson, Michael Bleazard, Samuel Peet, Patrick O’Connor, John Baines and Davide Fontanarosa, and our sponsors Hologic Australia. The school programs were organised by Mikey Bernado, Scott Crowe and Nancy Yu; and were attended by more than 50 physicists.

The symposium began after lunch with an invited presentation on mammography by Dr. Thomas Lloyd (on behalf of Dr. Janet Gray). Proffered presentations were given by Kyle Ewart, Hang Min, Emma Whittle, Scott Crowe and Michael Roche.

2016 update from PAH Radiation Oncology

PAH physicists have had a busy year with the installation, commissioning and first treatment of a patient utilising the 6X FFF modality. We have also seen the introduction of the Octavius 4D paired with the SRS 1000 array which has significantly improved out stereotactic QA efficiency from the days of film and the StarCheck array which is improving beam QA efficiency.

The year also saw the commissioning of the Monaco TPS along with the 266th GammaKnife patient, treating a total of 501 brain mets. The department has been strongly involved in continued professional development attending conferences such as EPSM, where 4 orals and 9 posters were presented, and looks forward to the growth of our research culture in the years to come.

Patrick O’Connor and Venkata Seshadri achieved certification, and the department has recently welcomed Trang Pham to the team.