Bob Fitchew Member of the Year Award, 2017

The ACPSEM Queensland branch is proud to announce the winner of the Bob Fitchew Member of the Year Award for 2017; Bess Sutherland.

The Bob Fitchew Member of the Year Award recognises the achievements of Queensland members of the ACPSEM in the following areas:

  • Contributions to the workplace,
  • Contributions to the broader physical sciences & engineering community,
  • Contributions to the ACPSEM, and
  • Innovations in engineering and physical sciences.

Bess Sutherland made a significant contribution to both Genesis QLD and ROC in the recent past, including her role as the lead physicist on the implementation of spine SABR and commissioning two new Elekta linacs at Rockhampton. Bess served as the branch secretary, contributing to local events and the national newsletter. She published 5 papers since 2015. Bess moved to Western Australia in 2017, to develop new services with ROC; but this award recognises her significant contributions during her time in Queensland.

We would also like to acknowledge the runners up who have also made amazing contributions to their workplace and ACPSEM:

Mikey Bernado has been an active and enthusiastic member of the ACPSEM QLD committee branch since 2016. He has presented at numerous branch events, and ensured diagnostic imaging has been consistently represented. This year Mikey volunteered his time to the organisation of both the QLD branch Winter School and the EPSM Summer School. Clinically, he has been responsible for the establishment of the Sunshine Coast University Hospital Diagnostic Imaging Medical Physics service, following his certification in 2016.

Trent Aland became the National Deputy Director of Physics for ICON Cancer Centres in May 2017. Since joining ROC/ICON, Trent has lead service development projects including MPC on TrueBeam systems, beam holding for seed based prostate patients, automation, RGSC, and recently the commissioning of the first Halcyon system in the Asia Pacific Region. His research work involving film dosimetry has produced multiple publications over the past 2 years, and one of the highest cited papers published in APESM.

Thanks go to our distinguished panel of judges and heartfelt congratulations go to our winner. Bess Sutherland, we miss you!