Bob Fitchew Member of the Year Award, 2017

The ACPSEM Queensland branch is proud to announce the winner of the Bob Fitchew Member of the Year Award for 2017; Bess Sutherland.

The Bob Fitchew Member of the Year Award recognises the achievements of Queensland members of the ACPSEM in the following areas:

  • Contributions to the workplace,
  • Contributions to the broader physical sciences & engineering community,
  • Contributions to the ACPSEM, and
  • Innovations in engineering and physical sciences.

Bess Sutherland made a significant contribution to both Genesis QLD and ROC in the recent past, including her role as the lead physicist on the implementation of spine SABR and commissioning two new Elekta linacs at Rockhampton. Bess served as the branch secretary, contributing to local events and the national newsletter. She published 5 papers since 2015. Bess moved to Western Australia in 2017, to develop new services with ROC; but this award recognises her significant contributions during her time in Queensland.

We would also like to acknowledge the runners up who have also made amazing contributions to their workplace and ACPSEM:

Mikey Bernado has been an active and enthusiastic member of the ACPSEM QLD committee branch since 2016. He has presented at numerous branch events, and ensured diagnostic imaging has been consistently represented. This year Mikey volunteered his time to the organisation of both the QLD branch Winter School and the EPSM Summer School. Clinically, he has been responsible for the establishment of the Sunshine Coast University Hospital Diagnostic Imaging Medical Physics service, following his certification in 2016.

Trent Aland became the National Deputy Director of Physics for ICON Cancer Centres in May 2017. Since joining ROC/ICON, Trent has lead service development projects including MPC on TrueBeam systems, beam holding for seed based prostate patients, automation, RGSC, and recently the commissioning of the first Halcyon system in the Asia Pacific Region. His research work involving film dosimetry has produced multiple publications over the past 2 years, and one of the highest cited papers published in APESM.

Thanks go to our distinguished panel of judges and heartfelt congratulations go to our winner. Bess Sutherland, we miss you!

ACPSEM Qld Branch AGM and PRIMPS 23 Recap

The 2017 ACPSEM Qld Branch AGM was hosted by Biomedical Technology Services (BTS) in Spring Hill, in December 2017. After the usual annual reports from the Branch Chair and other office bearers (and the election of the new Branch committee), the AGM concluded with a touching expression of gratitude from outgoing Chair, Tim Ireland, to all members of the Queensland branch, but especially to those most involved in ACPSEM events, panels and committees at the state and national level, for helping to make 2017 an outstanding year for all of us. (Eg. Queensland’s Ian Smith was the national ACPSEM President, Scott Crowe was the chair of the Professional Standards Board, and Simon Critchley and David Thiele made valuable contributions to the board of ARPAB and the ACPSEM Membership Committee, respectively.)

After a short break, a brief and animated PRIMPS meeting took place. This event, the 23rd meeting of the Progress and Research In Medical Physics Series, involved scientific presentations from Tim Ireland (a review of fluorscopic imaging procedures during swallow tests which included a modest description of a comprehensive investigation that has the potential to lead to better outcomes – clearer images from less imaging dose – for all Queensland head-and-neck fluoroscopy patients) and Tanya Kairn (a report on recent small field scatter factor measurements which included some gleeful and transparent boasting about the relationships between work done by Queensland medical physicists and the new IAEA small field dosimetry code of practise, TRS-438), as well as some robust Q&A from many interested participants.

These events were followed by yummy snacks and friendly chats at the BTS offices.


The 2017 ACPSEM QLD Branch AGM will be held in conjunction with the PRIMPS 23, at Biomedical Technology Services (450 Gregory Terrace, Spring Hill). The AGM will be held between 4:30 and 5:30 PM, and is open to all members of the branch. PRIMPS will be run directly after, from 5:30 to 7:00 PM. Please RSVP your attendance to either (or both!) events to branch secretary Emma Spelleken, and indicate if you are interested in presenting work. This information is also available in the flyer.

2017 Symposium Recap

The Princess Alexandra Hospital hosted the 27th ACPSEM Queensland branch symposium.

The day started with the 4th ACPSEMQ winter school, with DIMPs learning about recent innovations in mammography and ROMPs learning about image guided radiation therapy. Speakers included Tale Liiv, Elaine Ryan, Jack Svenson, Michael Bleazard, Samuel Peet, Patrick O’Connor, John Baines and Davide Fontanarosa, and our sponsors Hologic Australia. The school programs were organised by Mikey Bernado, Scott Crowe and Nancy Yu; and were attended by more than 50 physicists.

The symposium began after lunch with an invited presentation on mammography by Dr. Thomas Lloyd (on behalf of Dr. Janet Gray). Proffered presentations were given by Kyle Ewart, Hang Min, Emma Whittle, Scott Crowe and Michael Roche.